LISTEN: Tracks Of The Week

Contemporary Classic brings you a highly diverse playlist this week.

The playlist is mostly dominated by some hugely anticipated records. American indie-folk band Fleet Foxes dropped their third record, Crack-Up, New Zealand pop-star Lorde delivered her sophomore album, Melodrama and American indie group The Drums released their fourth album, Abysmal Thoughts.

Along with these albums, a number of singles were released, including tracks from ODESZA, Calvin Harris and City Calm Down.

Track Of The Week: Arcade Fire – ‘Creature Comfort’

Arcade Fire are set to release their fifth album, Everything Now, on July 28. Just two weeks ago, the Canadian indie-rock band dropped the title track from the record to mixed reviews.

However, their second single from the record, which has just been put out over the weekend, is a massive tune. ‘Creature Comfort’ takes Arcade Fire’s new synth-pop inspired dynamic to a deeper place. Frontman Win Butler and Regine Chassagne discuss the issues of body image and suicide throughout the lyrics, while a dark, industrial synth-beat really sets ‘Creature Comfort’ apart from other songs.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s