Bad//Dreems announce sophomore album Gutful

Adelaide rockers Bad//Dreems have announced their second album, Gutful, which will be released on April 21 via Ivy League Records. Accompanying the news, the band shared a video for their new single ‘Feeling Remains’.

Bad//Dreems is comprised of Ben Merwe on vocal duties, guitarist Alex Cameron, James Bartolo on bass and drummer Miles Wilson. The rock-group released their debut album Dogs at Bay back in 2015 and have supported DMA’S, The Avalanches and At the Drive-In on Australian tours.

The video for ‘Feeling Remains’ is inspired by the iconic Australian 90’s TV show Recovery, even featuring Dylan Lewis, who was the host of the show all those years ago. An awkwardly hilarious interview is followed by Bad//Dreems performing their raucous new single, which is made to be performed live.

‘Feeling Remains’ is an ever-so-recognisable Bad//Dreems track, influenced by the classic Australian pub-rock sound. Bad//Dreems producer Mark Opitz is responsible for the 80s pub-rock influence. Opitz is an award-winning producer who has worked on records for INXS, Cold Chisel, The Angles and various other legendary Australian acts. Opitz produced Bad//Dreems’ debut album Dogs at Bay and now the follow-up in Gutful.

Although the band fall within the pub-rock genre, Bad//Dreems are seeking a way to tackle the ideologies that come with the main followers of the genre. Guitarist Alex Cameron explains: “The only rule when starting the band was ‘all songwriting, no bullshit’. No bullshit pretence, no bullshit insecurity, no bullshit guitar pedals. It was not a conscious decision [to be a “pub-rock” act] but not something we shied away from. After all, what better foil to address cultural cringe, crudity and chauvinism than from within a genre (“pub-rock”) that is maligned by many as a harbinger of cultural cringe, crudity and chauvinism. What better way to express the complexities of being Australian than from within this most Australian musical lineage?”

Bad//Dreems will be supporting Midnight Oil for ‘The Great Circle’ tour in Adelaide. Grab a ticket here.

Check out the video for ‘Feeling Remains’ below, the second single from Gutful after ‘Mob Rule’:

Gutful Tracklist:

1. Johnny Irony
2. Mob Rule
3. Blood Love
4. Gutful
5. By My Side
6. Pagan Rage
7. 1000 Miles Away
8. Feeling Remains
9. Nice Guy
10. Make You Love Me
11. Million Times Alone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s